Norfolk Admirals Official Website Norfolk Admirals Official Website



June 9, 2012

Admirals Win 2012 Calder Cup Championship

TORONTO, Ont. – The Norfolk Admirals have won the 2012 Calder Cup Championship after defeating the Toronto Marlies in the best-of-seven Calder Cup Finals, four games to zero. Norfolk earned its first ever American Hockey League championship this afternoon at the Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, after a 6-1 victory over the Marlies in Game 4.

The Admirals, who won the Macgregor Kilpatrick Trophy as the AHL’s regular season champions with a 55-18-1-2 record, reached the Calder Cup Finals after defeating the Manchester Monarchs in four games in the best-of-five Eastern Conference Quarterfinals, the Connecticut Whale in six games in the best-of-seven Eastern Conference Semifinals and the St. John’s IceCaps in four games in the best-of-seven Eastern Conference Finals.

Norfolk, the AHL affiliate of the Tampa Bay Lightning, won its last 28 regular season games to establish a North American professional hockey record. The Admirals then went 15-3 in the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs en route to the first Calder Cup Championship in Virginia history. Norfolk brings a professional hockey championship back to Hampton Roads 14 years after the Hampton Roads Admirals of the ECHL won their third championship (1991 and 1992 Riley Cup, 1998 Kelly Cup).

Norfolk becomes the 28th different city to win the Calder Cup in the 76-season history of the American Hockey League’s championship trophy. The Admirals recorded the 17th sweep in Calder Cup Finals history (15th in a best-of-seven format).

Two players on the Norfolk roster recorded their second Calder Cup Championships: Brandon Segal (2004 Milwaukee Admirals) and Jean-Philippe Cote (2007 Hamilton Bulldogs). All other players and coaches won their first Calder Cup championship.

Alexandre Picard, who scored nine goals and added seven assists and totaled 16 points in the Calder Cup Finals, was awarded the Jack A. Butterfield Trophy as Most Valuable Player of the 2012 Calder Cup Playoffs as voted by the coaches. The Jack A. Butterfield Trophy is named after the former President and Treasurer of the American Hockey League. Mr. Butterfield served the longest tenure of any American Hockey League President (28 years) and served as Chairman of the Board until his passing in October 2010.

Reserve your 2012-13 Admirals season tickets with a deposit of as little as $100 per seat today. Stop by the Admirals’ Administrative Offices at Scope, call (757) 640-1212 weekdays from 9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. or visit anytime!


Home  |   Schedule  |   Tickets  |   Team  |   Press  |   Merchandise  |   Community  |   Sponsor  |   Contact Us

Norfolk Admirals Hockey     201 East Brambleton Ave.   Norfolk, VA 23510   757.640.1212
© 2016 Admirals ECHL Hockey, LLC All rights reserved. Do not duplicate or redistribute in any form.